Ah! My Country Side

Posted: November 17, 2012 in Poems
Tags: , , ,

 

 

Mad rush turned me deaf and blind
A life reduced to cash and kind.
I’m running away from a sticky web
To save myself from this worldly grab!

I kept running with all my might,
Until the green hills caught my sight,
I’m running away from city lights,
To lose myself to starry nights!!!

Oh! How I’ve missed my country life,
My sweet abode by the river side…
I’ve missed falling from olive trees,
Scratching my elbows and my knees!

As I lie under the evening sky,
I see home-bound herons fly!
Beaks full of insects and pest,
For babies in their cozy nest.

Sun showered its last red beam,
Over the paddy, gold and green.
Breeze wheezed past, teasing the grass
The paddy rustled and let it pass!

Among the tall green grass I lie,
Listening to the brook flowing by.
Through woods and the stones she flows,
Somewhere none but only she knows!!!

Sky has now turned black and gold,
Stars wink at me as night unfold,
I ask them, “Where were you till today?”
City lights blinded me is what they say!

I’ve left behind the world so mad.
My soul is so happy and I’m so glad.
I wish to stay hidden here forever
None should find me, never ever!

 

 

Comments
  1. RAMU DAS says:

    Wow! This is really beautiful poem 🙂

  2. good one nishu…feel gud poem

  3. surindernath says:

    You are unbeatable at ‘flash-fiction’ but I strongly feel that poetry is your Forte !!

  4. A great verse. What resonated with me was your first stanza. As we fall into the mire of everyday urban life, the “sticky web” of artificiality does become our reality. How many of us are able to shift perspectives to our true roots in the folds of nature? The treasure trove that such experiences can bestow on us can be priceless and eternal.

    This could be why your poem transported me to William Wordsworth’s Daffodils and I can hardly resist but put two of the verses here.

    I wandered lonely as a cloud
    That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd,
    A host, of golden daffodils;
    Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
    Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

    ………………………….
    …………………………
    …………………………

    For oft, when on my couch I lie
    In vacant or in pensive mood,
    They flash upon that inward eye
    Which is the bliss of solitude;
    And then my heart with pleasure fills,
    And dances with the daffodils.

    Cheers

    Shakti

    • njs says:

      What a wonderful comment… It gives me pleasure to know that you could connect to it…

      Who else can write such wonderful poems but Wordsworth…!!! Have you read the poem “Leisure” by William Henry Davies? I love that poem too… I donot know whether Im being too lazy or we definitely deserve such life!!!

      Again, Thanks for the wonderful comment and poem.

  5. “I’m running away from city lights,
    To lose myself to starry nights!!!”
    have done that many a times.Literally!! Beautiful poem..

Your comments are welcome!!!

